Program 2019

Indie Star Award 2019

Mark Webber

The Indie Star Award is a distinction granted to outstanding representatives of the American independent scene. Over the past decade, the winners of the prize were (among others): Todd Solondz, Jerry Schatzberg, Whit Stillman, David Gordon Green, Rosanna Arquette and the famous producer Christine Vachon.

This year’s Indie Star Award winners are Mark Webber and Jay Van Hoy.


His films were presented at the most important independent cinema festivals – SXSW, Tribeca and Sundance. Polish viewers also know him for performances in End of Hollywood by Woody Allen or Scott Pilgrim vs the world by Edgar Wright. In his creative work, he develops the principle of radical realism, transferring only real experiences to the screen. Mark Webber is one of the most interesting representatives of the American avant-garde; author of the films: Explicit Ills, The End of Love, The Ever After, Flesh and Blood and The Place of No Words.


A Texas native, Jay is a proud graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, where he majored in Communications and English Literature with a concentration in Business. In 2004 he co-founded Parts & Labor. Across 30 award-winning films, the company’s legacy has been built by establishing new auteurs with successful first and second features. The directors whose films were produced by Parts & Labor include David Lowery, Robert Eggers or Mike Mills. Parts & Labor continues to maintain a diverse, original slate of features, series, digital shorts, and podcasts. Latest production is Robert Eggers’ second feature following The Witch, The Lighthouse. Jay is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences and The Producers Guild of America.

stay in touch
festival partners